Vitamin Z and a lot of Concrete.

A week ago I had the pleasure of shooting my friend Nick Nikolov’s MKV GTI. He refinished his wheels in British Racing Green, and did a matching pinstripe on the front grille. He also framed the notch and is now sub-frame on the ground low when aired out. I rode down with him to Fall Show ‘n Go last year, and it was an awesome time. Real laid back guy, with an awesome, diverse taste in cars. After we met up, he had a surprise for me. He had a friend who wanted shots done too, So I said sure, why not. He never told me his friend and an incredibly aggressively stanced 350Z NISMO and was lower than a buried casket. We went down the road to a quarry/mine type thing near Mike’s garage (Owner of the 350Z) and took a few quick shots there.

Then we had Mike pull up the Z:

Then we hopped on Rt. 9 south to grab some quick rollers. I’m VERY happy with the way some of these came out, and I can’t wait to get a nice cloudy day at noon or something so i can have more light. Excuse any blurryness in Nick’s rollers, the Z is static and isn’t exactly the best car to shoot rollers from. They look pretty good, but who knows, I’m only human- and my 24-70 L doesn’t have IS. (hint hint Canon)

And of course Mike’s:

After an EXTREMELY cold set of rollers were taken, we stopped by Pizza Works in Old Saybrook. If you have never been there, I STRONGLY suggest you go get a pizza from there if you’re in the area. Probably one of the best pizza’s I’ve ever had, right up there with Mystic Pizza. Of course- Mike Hard parked right in front of the train station across the way-

We were going to try and wing it in Old Saybrook and try and find a great spot outdoors with access to an outlet to use my Strobes (Vagabond Inverter gets back on Monday) with no luck- and after a run-in with the Clinton police due to a very kind (Sarcasm) business owner of a certain custom boat yard, we decided to head home. Both of these cars (as well as the shots) were featured on http://www.Klutchonline.com (big shout out to Russ and Chaz for making it happen), go check out the website and read the write-up (also written by yours truly) and see some of the shots. click the pics for the link to my flickr.

Mike’s car will be making another appearance in the future, and hopefully on another blog as well.

Stay Tuned!

About travisrockphotography
My name is Travis Rock, and I'm a 20 year old photographer.

Leave a Reply

