First Wedding- Revisited.

There’s a lot of things I’m thankful for when it comes to my life. I think one of the biggest is- obviously- photography. What other hobby/job do you get to go to work, doing what you love, with great, happy clients, and share special moments with them? My first wedding June 12th of 2010 was no exception, and I don’t think it could’ve gone better if I wrote the script myself. Anything I would’ve changed would be having the knowledge I have now, back then. But alas- as time goes on, my skillset and knowledge will inevitably (and hopefully!) grow as time goes on. I was lucky enough to get two very laid back, fun, down to earth clients and a wonderful location.

I recently purchased an iPad 2 for use as portfolio medium and have start constructing my portfolio. This being my first wedding, and one of my favorite shoots of all, I figured it wouldn’t be fair to my pictures or any future clients to have any editing skills I’ve gained over the past few months go to waste- so I went at it, and re-edited and sorted out the whole batch. All 764 shots.

Did they come out bad? No. Did they come out amazing? No. Am I happy with them? As a whole- yes. I learned a lot that day, and continue to learn when situations like this arise.

I was, however- able to make a few shots I loved the first time around- useable with the beauty of Lightroom 3.2 and the wonders of shooting in RAW.

This shot was underexposed by about -2.3, which was corrected in lightroom, along with other basic edits and the addition of noise reduction. A solid one minute of editing turned something horrid into something beautiful.

Arguably my favorite shot of the entire day, I re-edited this one by accident, syncing the settings used with the shot above to this. I absolutely love high key moods in wedding shots and feel it adds a sense of happiness, purity, and optimism often associated with weddings. The above shot reflects that quite well, as does this one:

This isn’t a textbook ‘perfect’ shot. I zoomed all the way out to 24mm, shot stopped down, and was terribly underexposed. I didn’t use a flash because I thought F/2.8 would be fast enough. (Learned my lesson with that VERY quickly.) But in a way I’m glad this isn’t a textbook shot, because it differentiates itself from my normal stuff in that sense. I’m proud of this shot. Normally, I never say that. Normally I can pick a shot apart to the point where I can almost hate it. I can’t do it with this one. I can find things I could’ve done better, but overall, I’m happy with it. Proud of it.

View the rest of the shots on my flickr by clicking one of the above shots.

If you’re interested in choosing me as your wedding photographer, please contact me using the contact form on my website, or shoot me an email at travisrockphotography@hotmail.com, and we can discuss. I would love to capture your day as I did with Katie and Jason.

About travisrockphotography
My name is Travis Rock, and I'm a 20 year old photographer.

Leave a Reply

