Addition to the family.

I received my new camera Friday, and opened it as soon as I got home from work. I was also- excited enough to forget to leave my windows down in my car- before a torrential downpour. Oh well. You live and you learn. Note to self for the future: Roll windows up before you get in the driveway.

I got inside and opened the box and it was actually in better condition than I thought it would be. Everything came packed like it was brand new, which is always a great feeling. Opened it up, held it, and fell in love all over again. A Few months ago I backup shot a wedding for a friend/colleague by the name of Joseph Arthur. I rented a 1Ds MKIII (Canon’s current flagship body, until a 1Ds MKIV or something along those lines comes out) and fell in love with it. The body construction, the menu layout, the button layout, everything about the camera appealed to me. Initially I preferred the 5D MKII because of my familiarity with the button layout of the 5D series, but after shooting the wedding with the 1Ds MKIII, I was much more preferable to the 1D setup.

After the 7D just not feeling right for me, I sold it and found a 1D MKIII for 1650$ on http://www.fredmiranda.com’s buy/sell forum. I had to jump on it. The shutter had been replaced after 300k shots, and it shoots like it’s brand new. Unfortunately¬† it’s also DIGIC III- an image processor that’s notorious for being a horrible dust magnet. I checked out some high res shots I took from Brooke, and I did see some dust spots in the shots. I’ve narrowed it down to about 2 small ones in the bottom left and top right corners so it doesn’t bother me as much, but after my wedding in May I may send it in for an express check and clean.

I’ve gotta say, I love this thing. I missed the look my 5D images had, with the less contrasty and saturated tones. I’m really happy with my decision to switch to a 1-D series body. Definitely worth the 150$ it cost me to upgrade.

About travisrockphotography
My name is Travis Rock, and I'm a 20 year old photographer.

Leave a Reply

